New CMS Athletics Women’s High School Flag Football League Ends 2022 Season

The last:

The Carolina Panthers and CMS Athletics will celebrate the end of the new CMS High School Girls Flag Football League with a final tournament on Sunday, May 15 at Bank of America Stadium.

The tournament will be open to the public and free.

Select stadium concessions will be available from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Spectators are asked to enter through the south gate of the stadium (Morehead Street side of the stadium) and the NFL clear bag policy will be enforced.

Original story (3/26/22):

CHARLOTTE, NC — Twenty teams faced off Friday night to kick off the season for the new CMS High School Girls’ Flag Football League at Hough High.

Each team played two games on Friday as part of their 10-game schedule.

Officials say the intramural/club-level program is designed to provide high school girls with increased access and opportunities to participate in the growing sport of high school women’s flag football, which has been sanctioned as a varsity sport in six states.

Carolina Panthers Charities provided $50,000 in program funding, school resources and custom Nike school uniforms to support the success of the new program.

“The Carolina Panthers are thrilled to partner with Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools Athletics in creating this important Girls High School Flag Football League pilot project, which will provide increased participation opportunities and access to the sport of football for high school girls. “said the manager of the Panthers. of Community Relations Riley Fields. “We hope this effort will also be a catalyst for sanctioning women’s high school soccer as a college sport in the future.”

Officials say the league championship will be played Sunday, May 15 at Bank of America Stadium in downtown Charlotte.

Participating schools include:

  • Knights of Ardrey Kell.
  • Butler Bulldogs.
  • Catholic cougars.
  • Cougar Rooms.
  • Eastern Mecklenburg Eagles.
  • Garinger’s Wildcats.
  • Harding rams.
  • Hopewell Titans.
  • Hough Huskies (2 teams).
  • Independence Patriots.
  • Mallard Creek Mavericks.
  • Myers Park Mustangs.
  • North Mecklenburg Vikings.
  • Olympic Trojans.
  • Cardinals Phillip O. Berry.
  • Rocky Mountain Crows.
  • Southern Mecklenburg Sabers.
  • West Charlotte Lions.
  • West Mecklenburg Falcons.

About the author