Mayo Under 17 football squad for Sligo clash revealed

Mayo Under-17 football team manager Sean Deane is hoping to lead his team to a third straight win tonight. Photo: David Farrel

Mayo manager Sean Deane has made two changes to his Mayo Under 17 side for the third round of the Connacht GAA Minor Football Championship clash with Sligo tonight (Friday).

Joining the squad is Ballycroy’s Rory Conway at forward wing, replacing Dylan Gallagher, with Icelandady’s Zac Collins named at centre-forward in place of the suspended James Maheady. Maheady received a red card in the second round against Roscommon last Friday night.

Mayo have two out of two wins, with impressive victories over Leitrim and Roscommon already under their belt.

Balla GAA Club’s David Dolan continues in goal behind an unchanged fullback sextet of Rio Mortimer, John MacMonagle, Lorcan Silke, Liam Maloney, Colm McHale and Paul Gilmore. They are all holders for the third game in a row.

Hollymount/Carramore’s Jack Keane and Ballina Stephenites’ Luke Feeney will once again be in the middle of the park against Sligo.

Up front, Deane shuffled the cards, with Conway and Collins now joining Diarmuid Duffy in a new half-forward line.

The precise and deadly Mayo vanguard line of Cathal Keavney of Parke-Keelogues-Crimlin, Ronan Clarke of Bohola Moy Davitts and Niall Hurley of Claremorris will once again be relied upon for the bulk of Mayo scores.

Dylan Gallagher is named on the bench, with Evan Cosgrove and Sean O’Dowd also listed as substitutes.

Today’s (Friday) match starts at 7pm at James Stephens Park, Ballina. The referee is Brendan Healy from Galway. Tickets can be purchased here while the game is broadcast live by Connacht GAA.

The full Mayo team is as follows: David Dolan; Rio Mortimer, John MacMonagle, Lorcan Silke; Liam Maloney, Colm McHale, Paul Gilmore; Jack Keane, Luke Feeney; Rory Conway, Zac Collins, Diarmuid Duffy; Cathal Keavney, Ronan Clarke, Niall Hurley.

The replacements are: Conor Meaney, Evan Cosgrove, John Finn, Oliver Armstrong, Dylan Gallagher, Tom Lydon, Oisín Cronin, Dara Hurley and Sean O’Dowd.

About the author