Kildare Nationalist – Naas return to top football league


Naas: 2-16

Denomination: 0-9

By Eoin Beatty

NAAS moved into first place in Division 1 EMS Copiers SFL, following a deserved win over Confey on Wednesday night.

Darragh Kirwan scored 1-5 as Naas beat Confey to take the EMS Copiers SFL Division 1 lead on Wednesday night Photo: INPHO/Laszlo Geczo

Going into the match, Naas knew that something other than defeat would ensure they jumped Sarsfields to the top and attention now turns to the final round of fixtures which are due to be played next Tuesday.

Naas took an early lead but was caught soon after by some superb scoring from Confey and after 10 minutes the two teams were all tied at 0-3 points each, but that was the closest to the north county team. get to Naas for the rest of the tie.

Dermot Hanafin pointed and scored after 14 minutes and that was followed by excellent points from the boots of Darragh Kirwan and Alex Beirne respectively.

The two teams exchanged further points before half-time and the scoreboard showed 1-8 at 0-6 at the break in favor of the men in blue and white.

The second half was more one-sided and Naas beat Confey 1-8 to 0-3, with the aforementioned Kirwan, Beirne and Hanafin all adding to their tallies, while Kevin Cummins also contributed.

Ciaran Lyons, David Slattery and Dean Malone spun the scoreboard for Confey, but they were eventually knocked out of the contest in the 45th minute.

Darragh Kirwan put a final shine on the scoreline with the final kick of the ball, after a point from Ailin McDermott, Kirwan raised a green flag with an expertly taken finish.

Next up for Naas is a game against Clane at Conneff Park on Tuesday, while Confey is out at St Laurence.

NAAS:David Morrissey; Cathal Daly, Eoin Doyle, Mark Maguire; Paddy McDermott, Eoghan Prizeman, Tom Browne; Sean Hanafin, Alex Beirne 0-4; Drew Costello 0-1, Eamonn Callaghan, Paul McDermott; Dermot Hanafin 1-3, Kevin Cummins 0-2, Darragh Kirwan 1-5 1f. Subs: Sean Cullen for Callaghan 43, Ailin McDermott 0-1 for Costello, Shane Bergin for Paul McDermott 50, Conor Mellett for Cummins 52.

CONFEY: Colin Heeney; Colm Chan, Ciaran Kilbane, Aiden Crean; Imad Mirza 0-1, Conor Dennehy, Shane Dineen; Paul Divily, Ciaran Lyons 0-1; Joe Kilbane 0-1, David Slattery 0-1f, Niall Cawley; Fergal McGeogh 0-2, Niall Carney 0-2 1f, Conor Jennings. Subs: Andrew Breslin for Crean HT, Dean Malone 0-1 for Joe Kilbane 50, Neil Ryan for Slattery 59.

ARBITRATOR: Declan Peppar

About the author