India’s U-17 football team gear up for FIFA Women’s World Cup

India’s U-17 women’s team are currently preparing in Jamshedpur as part of their preparatory process for the FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup India 2022, which is scheduled to kick off on October 11 later this year. year. A total of 35 girls are currently at the camp in Jamshedpur, with more waiting on the wings for a call-up at the coach’s discretion.

Among the 35 players called up, Shilky Devi has already made the senior women’s national team for the 2022 AFC Women’s Asian Cup, while Astam Oraon, Nitu Linda and Lynda Kom were part of the SAFF U Women’s Championship. -19 2021 which was held in Bangladesh in December 2021. The girls are currently training under Suren Chettri while Head Coach Thomas Dennerby and Assistant Coach Alex Ambrose will join them soon.

“The scouting part was the hardest. It was an experience in itself. I want to record the effort and the help that came from state associations,” AIFF said quoting Alex Ambrose, who was also in responsible for the scouting process. “Scouting is an ongoing process, and we are working to build a team for the future,” he added.

Jamshedpur camp was set up with the support of the government of Jharkhand. Previously, the senior women’s national team also camped for several months in Jamshedpur ahead of the 2022 AFC Women’s Asian Cup with infrastructural and logistical assistance from the state government. “I am very happy and grateful to the government of Jharkhand for hosting us here. They have been strong supporters of Indian football and have facilitated a safe environment for all of us,” said Alex.

The 35-member squad (as of February 7, 2022) is as follows: Goalkeepers: Keisham Melody Chanu, Hempriya Seram, Anjanli Munda.

Defenders: Yanglem Julia Devi, Kajal, Naketa, Astam Oraon, Salina Kumari, Sudha Ankita Tirkey, Hemam Shilky Devi, Purnima Kumari, Payal, Kamasani. Durga, Kalpna Azad Zingh. Midfielders: R. Vinothini, Neha Rani, Thakor Shilpaben Devabhai, Madhumathi R, Dharshini Devi R, Lavanya Verma, Khushbu, Laishram Rejiya Devi, Ngashepam Pinku Devi, Varshika, Shailja, Lisham Babina Devi, Nitu Linda, Anita Kumari, Bhumika Bharat Mane.

Attackers: Sridevi Hansdah, Shubhangi Singh, Serto Lynda Kom, Loktongbam Sheila Devi, Reshma, Moirangthem Ambika Devi. (ANI)

(This story has not been edited by the Devdiscourse team and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

About the author