Indian women’s football team travel to Venezuela 1-2, end winless campaign in four-nation tournament, Sports News

The Indian women’s soccer team lost 1-2 against Venezuela at the Arena da Amazonia and ended their campaign in the four-nation tournament, where they faced higher-ranked teams including the heavyweights of Brazil. , without victory.

Ranked 57th behind Venezuela in the FIFA rankings, India started its final match of the tour with a goal of a positive result.

However, that was not to be the case as the Venezuelan women came out triumphant after falling behind in the first half.

India took the lead quickly thanks to Grace Dangmei and finished the first half with a one-goal lead.

READ ALSO: “We are not going to fear any of our opponents”, says defender of Indian football team Dalima Chhiber

But the Venezuelans made a good comeback in the second half and lost 2-1 after Mariana and Barbara scored for the South American side in a hotly contested game.

Mariana, above all, made a big difference in the second half with her speed.

Barbara struck in the 80th minute to give the Venezuelans the advantage, which they held until the final whistle.

The equalizer came in the 50th minute when Mariana found the back of the net at close range.

The Indian scored the only goal in the first half in the 17th minute thanks to a free kick when Ritu Rani’s ball was greeted by Grace. The goal opened the game as Venezuela looked to equalize.

Venezuela lobbied and put pressure on India, but its Indian defense, including Aditi Chauhan, was up to the task.

READ ALSO: Zlatan Ibrahimovic reveals he was set to join Napoli before AC Milan return

In preparation for the AFC Asian Cup next month, which it will host, India ended the four-nation tournament in Brazil with 3 losses, but the experience it has gained from that tournament could be useful when the continental tournament takes place.

In their previous matches, India lost to Chile 1-3 and Brazil 1-6.

The Asian Cup will take place from January 20 to February 6.

About the author