Hills United FC win GDSA Football League A-Div Trophy

Hills United FC and hosts pose with the trophy at KASA) Stadium in Diphu on Thursday.

Our correspondent
Diphu, July 14 (EMN):
Hills United FC became Greater Diphu Sports Association (GDSA) Division A Football League champions in 2022 by securing 10 points after playing their last league game against reigning league champion Karbi Anglong Morning Star FC (KAMSFC ), here at Karbi Anglong Sports Association (KASA) Stadium on Thursday.

The Hills United lads took over by scoring their first goal 9 minutes into the game via a Chesong Hanse penalty. The penalty was awarded after Morning Star’s Nebemo Kikon was cautioned for handballing inside the goal line.

Chesong Hanse, who took the penalty for Hills United FC, put his ball perfectly into the net and gave his team a one-goal lead.

Morning Star’s blue boys failed to do much en route to Hills United territory and the first half ended with Hills United leading by just one goal.

In the second half, the Blue Boys found new techniques and tried several times to equalize the score, but the counter-attacks of the players of Hills United thwarted their plan.

The Blues’ spirit was further dampened when they conceded another goal in the 85th minute from the boots of Hills United’s Bimson Rongpi thanks to an assist from Sarmon Nunisa.

The last five minutes remaining of the game saw the Blues make several unsuccessful incursions into rival territory and the game ended 2–0 in favor of Hills United.

Hills United topped the standings with a total of 13 points from 5 matches (win – 4, loss – 0, draw – 1) while KAMSFC collected 10 points from 5 matches (win – 3, loss – 1, match null – 1 ).

Diphu FC, who clinched second place in the league, had a goal difference of 14 against KAMSFC. In 5 games played, Diphu FC obtained 10 points (victory-3, defeat-1, draw -1).

Hills United FC received a winning trophy and cash prize from General Secretary, KASA, Dr. Pankaj Teron, while KASA, Badminton Secretary, Kensing Engti presented the second trophy and cash prize to Diphu FC.

The best goalkeeper was awarded to Klarson Timung of Diphu FC, while the top scorer award was given to Kirat Tisso of Diphu FC (15 goals all season) and the best player of the match today was awarded to Chesong Hanse of Hills United FC.

The award ceremony was attended by Deputy Secretary General, KASA, Prodip Ronghang; KASA Cricket Secretary Sanjoy Timung and KASA Football Secretary Horen Engti Kathar.

About the author