Goddard honors football team for achievements

The Goddard Rockets football team enters the Wool Bowl for a game against Valley High School. (Photo Steve Notz)

Copyright © 2021 Roswell Daily Record

Goddard High School honored its 2021 football team with a banquet and announced the players who made New Mexico High School Coaches Association All-State teams.

The Goddard Rockets finished the season 7-5 and ranked 4th in New Mexico Class 5A high school football.

“This team has overcome as much adversity or more than any team I’ve coached in my career,” Goddard head football coach Chris White said after the banquet. “We had so many injuries on key players. The other kids stepped in and did an amazing job.

White said injuries in key positions have plagued their season.

“We lost our quarterback Adrian Vega and running back James Torrez in the first game of the season, Javyn Morales in the fourth or fifth game of the season,” White said. “We’ve had a ton of guys going down and a ton of guys playing injured all year.”

Support local journalism
Subscribe to Roswell Daily Record today.

Offensive lineman Pablo Zaragoza, punter Noah Reese, running back Javyn Morales and defensive back Diego Nunez are part of the NMHSCA first team.

The All-State second team includes offensive linemen Landon Victor and Josh Torres; Landon Victor at defensive lineman; and inside linebacker Hector Salvarrey.

An honorable mention went to defensive end Goddard Layton Victor.

Goddard also gave his own awards to the football team. Noah Reese won Offense MVP; Layton Victor won Defense MVP and Best Defensive Lineman awards; Outstanding linebacker went to Hector Salvarrey and Jorge Beltran; Elija Quiroz received the Outstanding Defensive Back award; Javyn Morales and Jon Silva have both had outstanding attacking returns; Outstanding special teams went to Elias Armendariz and Brandon Robinson; and Diego Nunez and Elija Romero were both awarded top offensive receiver.

The GHS Team Leader Award was presented to Noah Reese, Adrian Vega, Caleb Burrell, Landon Victor and Pablo Zaragoza. The Blue Collar awards went to Drew Keelin and Julian Morando.

The “Dominic Chavez Fighting Heart Award” is an award named after a former player with a spinal injury. The award exemplifies courage and determination in all aspects of life, according to White. The award winners were Colton Franzoy, Erik Palma, Jorge Beltran, James Torrez and Adrian Vega.

“If there’s any luck in football, it’s just getting to the end of the season and having healthy kids,” White said. “Maybe we haven’t had much luck this year, but it was great fun coaching these guys.”

Blynn sportswriter Juliano Beltran can be reached at 575-622-7710, ext. 304, or [email protected]

About the author