Cork to meet All-Ireland champion Meath in National Football League opener

The Dublin holders will start the defense of their Lidl Ladies National Football League Division 1 crown with a trip to Waterford on the opening weekend of the 2022 campaign.

Division 1B of the competition also features TG4 senior champions All-Ireland Meath and Cork, the 12 Division 1 winners who lost to Dublin in the deciding 2021 match at Croke Park.

Cork and Meath meet on the opening weekend (February 13) in what will be the first competitive meeting between the counties since the spectacular All-Ireland Senior Championship semi-final in August, when Meath staged a sensational comeback for take the play in overtime, before finally winning.

Dublin will face Cork in the second round, before finalists from across Ireland, Dublin and Meath, reconnect in the third round.

Meath will operate to the next level next year after winning the Division 2 title in 2021, to seek promotion.

Division 1A contains Donegal, Galway, Mayo and Westmeath – with two teams emerging from each of the four-team divisions to play in the semi-finals on March 19.

Division 2A contains three Munster teams namely Clare, Kerry and Tipperary, which were relegated from the elite this year.

They will be joined by Division 3 champions Laois, while Division 2B is Ulster’s business as Armagh, Cavan, Monaghan and Tyrone prepare for some intriguing matches.

Division 3A contains the newly promoted Louth, who will play against Down, Roscommon and Sligo, while Wexford (relegated from Division 2 in 2021), Kildare, Wicklow and Longford form a Division 3B made up entirely of Leinster.

In Division 4A, Ulster Antrim, Derry and Fermanagh will be joined by Leitrim, as Fermanagh again prepares for the Fourth Division following his relegation in 2021.

In Division 4B, London is preparing for a return to League football and will face Carlow, Offaly and Limerick.

The Division 2 semi-finals will be played on March 19, with the Division 3 and 4 semi-finals to be decided on March 20.

The Divisions 3 and 4 Finals are scheduled for Sunday April 3, and the Division 1 and 2 Finals will be played a week later on Sunday April 10.

You can download the complete list of meetings at this link.

About the author