64 days to Razorback Football: Today we remember the 1964 Championship side

In the 7th season under legendary head coach Frank Broyles, Arkansas won their first and only national championship in 1964 as voted by the FWAA.

The Razorbacks 11-0 beat top-ranked Texas 14-13 in Austin en route to the championship. An 81-yard punt returned for a touchdown by Ken Hatfield set the tone early for Arkansas. While Ronnie Cavness has collected 25 tackles from his position at linebacker.

The Razorbacks have thrown 5 consecutive shutouts against Texas A&M, Wichita State, Rice, SMU and Texas Tech.

During the playoffs, Arkansas won the 1965 Cotton Bowl over Nebraska to finish as the only undefeated team in college football.

There were plenty of legends to speak of in the 1964 team. Jerry Jones (owner of the Cowboys), legendary coach Jimmy Johnson, real estate icon Jim Lindsey, future head coach Hatfield, Lloyd Phillips and Cavness were all team members. There were also quite a few players who played on Sunday, including Bobby Crockett, Bobby Burnett, Lindsey and Ronny South.

Arkansas boasted an elite defense that season when they allowed just 5.3 points per game, which was good for second place in all of college football.

It is well known that the AP and UPI polls released their rankings at the end of the regular season. They picked Alabama as champions despite losing to Texas in the Orange Bowl to finish 10-1 on the year. Years later, the AP (1965) and the UPI (1974) would end up changing their procedure to wait until after the bowls to announce their final standings.

To date, the Hogs have repeatedly come close to reaching the pinnacle of college football success. With Sam Pittman at the helm with his talented team, many believe the glory days are fast approaching for the Razorbacks.

About the author