2022 German Football League All-Stars announced

Graphic: Alex Malchow

With German Football League the playoffs begin, let’s take a look at the best players in the German soccer league during the regular season.

These GFL all stars were voted on at the end of the regular season by the various GFL coaches with league commentators Nicolas Martin, Christian Schimmel and Andreas Renner. Coaches were not allowed to vote for players on their own teams, and the players they voted for had to have played in more than 50% of their team’s games. At import heavy positions (QB, WR, RB, CB, S) at least one player voted for must be European. Take a look at the GFL stats leaders here:

Offensive selections included undefeated Potsdam Royals quarterback Chris Helbig who led the league in passing. Veterans Aaron Jackson, Aaron Wahl and Yasir Raji also made appearances last season.

Potsdam Royals QB Chris Helbig – Potsdam Royals

Quarterbacks: Chris Helbig (Posdam Royals), Zach Cavanaugh (Berlin Adler), EU Christian Strong (Cologne Crocodiles)

Functioning back: Lamar Carswell (Straubing Spiders) Karri Pajarinen (Potsdam Royals), Meril Zero (Berlin Rebels)

Wide Receivers: Aaron Jackson (Cologne Crocodiles), Jared Wolfe (Potsdam Royals) Jarvis McClam (Cologne Crocodiles), Max Zimmermann (Berlin Adler)

OL Yasir Raji resumes kick-off – Potsdam Royals

offensive lineYasir Raji (Potsdam Royals) David Beale (New Yorker Lions) Gerrit Brandt (New Yorker Lions) Aaron Wahl (Dresden Monarchs) Alessandro Vergani (Schwabisch Hall Unicorns)

Kicker: Robert Werner (Munich Cowboys)

Defensively, the roster included savvy veterans like Paul Morant, Samuel Kargel and Johannes Wagner. New players who have made a name for themselves include recent NFL International Combine invitee Lino Schroter, as well as sack leader Mario Wokocha (14) and the league’s top tackle in Marburg linebacker Amin Black (105).

Defensive line: Johannes Zirngibl (Straubing Spiders), Johannes Wagner (Allgäu Comets), Samuel Kargel (New Yorker Lions)

Edge: Mario Wokocha (Allgau Comets) OJ Thompson (Potsdam Royals)

Linebackers: Lino Schroter (Cologne Crocodiles), Donovan Hayden (Straubing Spiders), Amin Black (Marburg Mercenaries)

Cornerbacks: CJ Davis (Kiel Baltic Hurricanes), Ken Hike (Dresden Monarchs), Benjamin Krahl (New Yorker Lions)

Securities: Paul Morant (Berlin Rebels), Fardan Allen (Cologne Crocodiles), Giuseppe della Vechia

Bettor: Simon Schwetz (Straubing Spiders)

Coach of the Year: David Odenthal Cologne Crocodiles (7-3) & Nadine Nurasyid. Munich Cowboys (8-1-1)

Coach of the Year Nadine Nurasyid – Peter Roth

About the author